Married Life

 

A scene from the film Fight Club

A scene from the film Fight Club

I have been married for 6 months, so yeah, I’ll be the first to admit I’m a rookie when it comes married life. I’ve never had much of a long term relationship before I met my wife, mostly because I sort of knew that the women before her weren’t “the one.” Rather than waste my time, I simply stopped dating them. 

 

When I met my wife we moved quickly. We moved in together within 3 months, got engaged in 6 months, and got married in 16.

Like any relationship, we have our disagreements. Lets not sugar coat it, married people fight. It is my belief and according to a lot of other people that fighting is normal in a relationship. It’s when you don’t fight that I think problems are created. 

My parents fought and still fight. They’ve been married for 30 years and I think they’re happy. They have their good days and bad. The same could be said for my wife and I, although our fighting differs from a lot of relationships. We have yet to have a huge fight. 

A lot of the time I am oblivious that my wife is even mad at me. There was one time that I remember when we both got home but apparently I had said something that upset my better half. I didn’t know. She went straight to the bedroom, I just figured she went to the living room. At the same time, I started cleaning the kitchen, and washing the dishes. About 10 minutes pasted and I got an idea.

“Hey babe, do you want to rent a movie tonight?”

A few minutes past and I continued to do the dishes. My wife finally came out

“Did you realize that I’m mad at you?” she said in a sad teary eyed tone.

I actually laughed and told her no. She laughed too, but was still upset with me. We talked it over and I apologized for being an oblivious ass**** then we laughed at the whole situation. A lot of our fights are like that.

We have never gotten into a screaming match. I think my wife refuses to. I’ll admit I’ve raised my voice a few times but quickly correct myself. Sometimes I do wish that we’d get into a huge screaming match, not for the argument, but the post argument festivities. We have yet to experience make up sex.

** Note

I just read this to my wife and she says “We’ve had make up sex before!” 

I’m pretty sure we haven’t, so again, I’m oblivious!

1 Comment

  1. Hi!
    I’ve been married for just over 7 years, and my husband STILL doesn’t know what’s going on half the time – you’re not alone!
    And he won’t fight with me either, no matter how hard I try 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

